Hoe Tonga Secondary School Sprint Results 2021

Congratulations to all the schools and paddlers that competed this year.

Last year, we had 45 teams competing across the various divisions, a record since we started this event. We easily surpassed this in this year’s event, with 59 teams competing, from across 22 schools. We had over 350 paddlers on the water!

A massive thank you to all the volunteers that helped run this event, to College Sport Wellington and David Fatatafa for collaborating with us to deliver this event, and our many supporters and sponsors, such as Porirua City Council (rubbish collection), Hutt City Council (hydration station), and Terry Harkin (photography).

We again also had two awards up for grabs.

Our School Excellence Award recognises the school that accumulates the most points across all races, with 4 points for each first place in Championship Finals, 3 points for a second place, 2 points for a third place, and 1 point for a fourth place. Unfortunately, due to a computer mishap, we announced the wrong winner on the day. We apologise for this. The winner this year was Te Kura Maori o Porirua, with 31 points, followed by Manukura (from Palmerston North) with 27 points, and in third place was Te Kura a iwi Whakatupuranga Rua Mano (from Otaki) with 24 points.

Our School Spirit Award is given to the school that contributes the most towards the atmosphere and event delivery, and key volunteers are judging schools on their contribution. This year’s winner of this award was Wellington East Girls College.

Check out the the full results here. Good luck to all teams that are heading to the Secondary School Waka Ama Nationals in Rotorua next week.

Finally, look out for awesome event photos to be made available over the next few days on this site.