Board member positions available

For the new financial year 2022/23, there will be two vacancies available on the Hoe Tonga Board – in line with our constitutional requirement that two board members shall step down every two years.

The current board members are as follows:

  • Jörn Scherzer (Chair)
  • Matt Amundson-Fyall
  • Patrick Rimene
  • Pania Tahau-Hodges
  • Tane Cassidy
  • Thomas Tawhiri

Tane and Jörn have indicated their intention to step down at the end of the current term.

We encourage anyone who is enthusiastic about meeting our strategic goals of the region to put their name forward. Elections will be held at the AGM on 5 September 2022. The deadline for any applications will be 31 July 2022.

The process is as follows:

  • Nominations can be made by Member Clubs. You can nominate any individual. Nominees do not need be a member/paddler of your club or region.
  • We are seeking Board members who will take an active involvement in the sport’s governance body and in the best interests of its membership as a whole (rather than that of a particular club). All nominees must be honest, reliable, trustworthy and comfortable to ‘walk and talk’, particularly in relation to the values of our sport (as outlined in our Strategic Plan).
  • Clubs and nominees must fill in the nomination form. They must be received, completed with relevant nominee profile and sent to The list of nominees, along with their profiles, will be posted on the Hoe Tonga website.
  • Click here to download the nomination form.