Mana Island Challenge 2010: results and photos

Kia Orana Koutou Katoatoa,

The Mana Island Challenge was held in variable conditions on Saturday 28 August but this didn’t dampen the spirits of those who attended the inaugural event.

The W6 race took place in the morning first with six waka competing in the 20km course.

First and second place was hotly contested between two crews from Mana Pasifika with the Mana Menz team (1.55.02) eventually winning over their club rivals Makaira (1.55.27).

Third place was taken out by The Outsiders (2.01.31), Aniuwaru men’s Rough Riderz came in fourth (2.07.04) and Rusty Nails from Hawaikinui came in fifth (2.14.05).

Only one W6 women’s team raced from Porirua Canoe Kayak Club (2.03.16).

There was a combination of W1, W2, sea kayak and surf ski crafts competing in the singles race which was great to see. The eventual winner was Sam Blyde who competed in a surf ski (54.55). The first W1 (rudder) home was paddled by Allan Sullivan from Team Phoenix in Auckland (1.01.58).

Other times:

Surf Ski

  • Marty McDowell (54.55)
  • Iain Gillies (1.01.39)

W1 (Rudderless)

  • Shannon Moon (1.06.40)

Sea Kayak

  • Sandy Winterton (1.03.55)


  • Tuhiwai Hauiti-Parapara (Jnr) / Terry Gardiner (1.04.07)

The host clubs Porirua Canoe Kayak Club in conjunction with Aniuwaru Waka Ama Club would like to thank the sponsors of the event, including:

  • Moananui
  • The Lions Club Titahi Bay
  • Countdown Porirua
  • K-Mart Porirua
  • Brights Mitre 10 (Paremata)
  • Naomi Brooking from Remax Real Estate
  • Bunnings, Porirua
  • Body Wisdom

Porirua Canoe Kayak Club and Aniuwaru Waka Ama Club would also like to warmly thank all of the wonderful paddlers who competed in the Mana Island Challenge. Without you all the event would not have been possible.

To all of the friends and family of the organisers who helped out on the day, both on land and on the water, and with donating prizes, thank you all for your support.

And finally, a special acknowledgement to the individuals and local organisations who provided their support both before and during the event:

  • Sharlene Winiata (photographer)
  • Titahi Bay Surf Lifesaving Club
  • Wellington Regional Council Harbourmaster
  • Mana Coastguard
  • Porirua City Council
  • Porirua Police
  • Whitby Sections
  • Hoe Tonga
  • Tuhiwai Hauiti-Parapara (Race coordinator)

The W6 races were captured on camera by our photographer Sharlene (Shaz) Winiata.  Please click on the link to view images from the day.

After the success of this inaugural event, the Mana Island Challenge 2010 Organising Committee plan to make this race an annual fixture on the paddling calendar. It is hoped that next year’s race will attract even more paddlers from around the country to come and take on the challenge of the local waters around Titahi Bay.

Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia

Mana Island Challenge 2010