Kayak Krazy 10km Series at MANA, 6 August

Mana Kayak Racing Club is organising a 10km event at Onepoto on 6 August. The event is open to waka ama paddlers (W1 and W2). Sorry, but this is not suitable for W6, please compete at the Hoe Tonga Paddla Series for W6 instead.

For more information on this race, please click here.

Quick summary:

  • Date: Sunday, 6 August 2017 9:00 a.m.
  • Location: Mana Kayak Racing Club, Cnr Titahi Bay Rd & Onepoto Rd, Porirua
  • Organiser: MKRC; Matt Warren; 027 475 7323;  manakayakracing@gmail.com
  • Entry fee: $15 pp ($5 late fee if entering on the day)

Hoe Tonga PADDLA Series 2017

Welcome to the Hoe Tonga PADDLA Series 2017, designed to attract new paddlers to our sport, and to enable paddlers and teams to prepare for the Long Distance Nationals 2017.

Races consist of a long course (12-15km) for senior teams, and a shorter course (5-8km) for junior and novice (1st year paddling) teams. The Series is overseen by Hoe Tonga, but each individual race is hosted and organised by member clubs or event organisers.

The series is big on participation, so we will have some cool spot prizes, including a Tai paddle.

Must read: Hoe Tonga PADDLA Series information package (click to download)

Our supporters

Naomi Brooking at OneAgency Brooking Realty:
027 531 0138
04 237 3403
(Mention the HT PADDLA Series when listing your home with Naomi.)


All races at a glance

Race 1: 10 June (Sat), Dolly Varden Beach, Porirua

Race 2: 12 August (Sat), Onepoto in Titahi Bay, Porirua

Race 3: 2 September (Sat), Ngati Toa Domain, Porirua

Race 4: 23 September (Sat), Whanganui

Other information

hawaikinuiClub logo TRMTH 2016pcpc logo

Cancellation: Mana Super 6 Ocean Challenge

It is with disappointment that Hoe Tonga has to announce the cancellation of the Mana Super 6 Ocean Challenge 2017 (including a Cook Strait Crossing race course option as previously successfully tested).

We could have worked with as little as 6 teams, just as the Molokai Hoe once started with a handful of teams. But we had a smaller than expected number of formal intents to race from teams by the due date, coupled with the unexpected withdrawal of teams that had previously committed to racing, thereby leaving us no choice but to cancel.

We would like to thank those sponsors and supporters that stuck with us to get this event format to the start line, including but not limited to Goodmanns, NZCT, Trust House, support boaties, key clubs such as PCKC and Hikoikoi agreeing to make their canoes available to teams, and those putting in the planning yards.

Hoe Tonga

Hoe Tonga Secondary School Regional Sprint Champs, 18 March



  • Host: Hoe Tonga Pacifica Waka Ama Association
  • Venue: Onepoto, Titahi Bay
  • When: 18 March 2017
  • Entries closed on Friday, 10 March 2017.



  • View the entries
  • Entries are to be done via each school (through the school sports coordinators)
  • There are no refunds for entries that chose not to race or show up on race day.

Questions? Email hoetonga@gmail.com

Confirmed selection for W12 regional team

A letter from Chris Fox, W12 Selector

Kia ora koutou

I am pleased to announce the selection of the following paddlers who will represent Hoe Tonga in the Regional Premier W12 at National Sprints 2017.

Congratulations to these paddlers and the appointed Team Captains who have indicated their availability and willingness to undertake this role and represent our region. Should any paddlers listed below be unavailable to attend Nationals please contact hoetonga@gmail.com to advise as soon as possible giving an opportunity for those who are waitlisted to participate:

Hoe Tonga Regional W12 Paddlers (Men)
1) Selection based on 1st OM Team W6 500m 2) Fastest W1 Men 250m Dash Race – J19/Open

1 P.J. Rimene-Albrett Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club
2 Aperahama Hurihanganui Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club
3 NUKU, Joe Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club
4 RIMENE, Paddy Wairarapa WWACC (Captain)
5 TAIAPA, Parekoihu Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club
6 RIMENE-ALBRETT, Shannon Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club
7 SCHERZER, Joern Hikoikoi Waka Club
8 AMMUNSON-FYALL, Matt Hikoikoi Waka Club
9 HYNES, Lawrence Porirua Canoe Kayak Club Inc.
10 HANARA, Andrew Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club
11 WALFORD-COLLIER, Ducati Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club
12 SAVELL, Jarrod Hawaiki Nui Tuarua Waka Ama

Next Waitlisted: Kasey JOE-MCINDOE

Hoe Tonga Regional W12 Paddlers (Women)
1) Selection based on 1st OM Team W6 500m 2) Fastest W1 Women 250m Dash Race – J19/Open

1 Rachel Kingi Whanganui River OCC (Captain)
2 Ngarita King Whanganui River OCC
3 Maioha Arihia Whanganui River OCC
4 Jaimee-lee Coleman Whanganui River OCC
5 Nikki Crawford Whanganui River OCC
6 Talia Poutini Whanganui River OCC
7 HODGES, Ria Porirua Canoe Kayak Club Inc.
8 GILLESPIE, Ariana Porirua Canoe Kayak Club Inc.
9 WALFORD-COLLIER, Donna Porirua Canoe Kayak Club Inc.
10 HODGES, Hineora Porirua Canoe Kayak Club Inc.
11 Eden Te PAA Porirua Canoe Kayak Club Inc.
12 ELKINGTON, Marama Hawaikinui

Next Waitlisted:  Mereana Hodges

There may be an opportunity for both teams to have a training prior to Nationals and it will be the role of the appointed Team Captain/s to organise and notify paddlers of any training. The race itself is scheduled as a straight final at Nationals and it is the responsibility of the Team Captain to arrange paddlers seating in the W12 on the day if no prior training run has been undertaken.

Hoe Tonga will supply a uniform (shirt only) to both teams.

Nga mihi nui
Christine Fox
W12 Hoe Tonga Regional Selector

Regionals 2016: Lane draw and live viewing and live results

It’s going to be our biggest year, with over 60 teams entered, and 110 races!

IMPORTANT: In order to get through the programme on Saturday, racing will commence at 8.30am. This means all teams and paddlers in the early races should be on site at 7.30am. Do plan your travel, from Wellington to Masterton is about at least 1:30hrs by car.

Here some key documents for race day:

Note that we will track canoes, which means you can view all racing live at http://www.yacht-bot.com/races/11795. Canoes will be identified only by their numbers, so keep an eye on the estimated start times for each race and the live results to keep track of who is on the water.

We will also have all results available live at http://www.liveresults.co.nz (this is in addition to the printed results, as they become available, at the information desk).

For further information, click here.